Home > Uncategorized > May 5, 2011

May 5, 2011

This semester at The Tetherless World I wasn’t able to get as much as I planned done, due to a very heavy course load, but I learned a lot. One really powerful idea I had for the Health Search web app that I am helping Dominic Difranzo with is the ability to do a ‘diff’ on two different zip codes. Seeing information on one is powerful, but having a side by side comparison of two regions would make the app especially powerful. I edited the code so as to be able to display the information of two zips, though I did not have the time to change the interface so that a user could do a query for two. Implementing this should be trivial though. Giving users a percent difference between two zips should also be trivial, as all the numbers are available.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, in March I worked with Bharath Santosh on a project with Facebook Profiles and FOAF. That project really stands out to me now as one of the funnest experiences this semester. We worked all night from 8 PM to 8 AM, coming in with nothing and leaving with a finished project. Aside from the semantic web aspect of what we did, the actual code work behind it was a lot of fun. We had Colin Rice on Ubuntu working in Python, Bharath on Windows with Java, and I worked in C on Mac OS X. While I’ve worked in C++ for my classes here at RPI, it was my first time using C, and while not radically different from C++, it was a good memorable learning experience.

I’ll be back a the TWC next semester with some new ideas to blog about.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

